During the 10th edition of Darmstadt Days of Photography, the Merck-Prize was awarded for the seventh time. Among the 380 entries to the competition, 37 works had been selected for presentation during the festival. Out of these, a jury selected three artists to be nominated for the Merck-Prize. On the day of the opening and after an assessment of the presentation in the exhibition space at Museum Künstlerkolonie, the Swiss artist Brigitte Lustenberger was selected as award winner with her work “This Sense of Wonder”.

Award Winner

Brigitte Lustenberger


Hanna Becker


Michael Schmid

The award ceremony took place on April 20, 2018, at 19:30 at Museum Künstlerkolonie on Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt. The honoree is awarded a prize of EUR 7.000, the two further nominees a prize of EUR 1.500 respectively. The Merck-Prize is donated by the Darmstadt-based multinational chemical, pharmaceutical and life sciences company Merck Group.

The Jury

(von links nach rechts):
Gregor Schuster
Alexandra Lechner
Prof. Dr. Kris Scholz
Ute Noll
Rüdiger Dunker
Albrecht Haag