»8. Merck-Preis der Darmstädter Tage der Fotografie«

Announcement of the 16 nominated artists

On the occasion of »11. Darmstadt Photography Days«, the photography prize »Merck-Preis der Darmstädter Tage der Fotografie« (worth 10,000 EUR) will be awarded to one artist or artist duo.

The nominated artists were chosen by a Jury of photographers and curators in December 2019 after an international Open Call (application period: September to November 2019; in total 303 applicants) . The curatorial concept and placement of the individual works in the group-exhibition at Designhaus Darmstadt on Mathildenhöhe was also already decided during the two consecutive days of the Jury Meeting.

Trophy for the winner of  »8. Merck-Preis der Darmstädter Tage der Fotografie« 2020 © Felix Schöppner

key-visual darmstädter tage der fotografie N. A. Vague

Key-visual of »11. Darmstadt Photography Days«
N. A. Vague, #real #me #ad 3, 2017

Nominees 2020

Photographic works and series in accordance with the festival’s annual topic »Bizarre Escapes – Humor in Photography« by the following 16 artists are nominated (in alphabetical order):

  • Ute Behrend, Köln (D)
    »Back to Nature, Dinge in die Natur tragen«
  • Thorsten Brinkmann, Hamburg (D)
    »not just one title«
  • Heiko Daniels, Neckargemünd (D)
    »An Untamed Sense of Control – 101 emblematische Versuche, die Realität (an)zuerkennen«
  • Götz Diergarten, Volxheim (D)
    «Der fremdbestimmte Blick«
  • Anja Engelke, Bremen (D)
    »Room 125«
  • Manuel Frolik, Dresden (D)
  • Frank Kunert, Boppard (D)
  • Mirko Müller, Mannheim (D)
    »Fluorescent Adolescent«
  • Joseph Obanubi, Lagos (NG)
    »Techno Heads – Images from the Past»
  • Robert Pufleb & Nadine Schlieper, Düsseldorf (D)
    »Alternative Moons«
  • Johanna Schlegel, Saarbrücken (D)
    »condensed memories« & »entlichten«
  • Tom-Oliver Schneider, Leipzig (D)
    »DIALOG – Ästhetisierte Häßlichkeit, die mich anschreit«
  • Nikita Teryoshin, Berlin (D)
    »Nothing Personal«
  • N. A. Vague, München (D)
    »#real #me #ad«
  • Wolfgang Vollmer, Köln (D)
    »Meisterwerke der Fotografischen Kunst. Die Sammlung Vollmer«

-> Inquiries for press images und infomational material can be sent to info@dtdf.de

Jury & Award Ceremony

The reduction of the high amount of submissions of the Open Call to only 15 photographic series manages to concentrate the Jury’s statement, but also offers enough room for individual genres and approaches to photography and the festival’s annual topic.

Works by all 16 nominated  artists will be exhibited in a group-exhibiton at Designhaus Darmstadt on Mathildenhöhe during the whole time span of the festival. The hanging, installation and exhibitional context will be decisive for the final decision of the Jury when discussing which artist should be awarded the »8. Merck-Preis der Darmstädter tage der Fotografie«.

The Jury

(from left to right) Gregor Schuster (Photographer, Co-founder of DTdF), Marcel Rauschkolb (Board of DTdF-Förderverein), Prof. Dr. Kris Scholz (Hochschule Darmstadt), Alexandra Lechner (Photographer, Co-Founder of DTdF, RAY-Curator), Ute Noll (On Photography, Photographic Editorial Department DU) and Julia Reichelt (Director of Kunstforum of TU Darmstadt)